Sport Union Accolades for All Blacks greats

Accolades for All Blacks greats

Twitter Facebook Reddit Pinterest Email

Ten former All Blacks have been honoured with an induction into the International Rugby Board Hall of Fame.

The 10 players inducted at a function in Auckland on Friday are Fred Allen, Don Clarke, Sean Fitzpatrick, Grant Fox, Ian Kirkpatrick, Michael Jones, John Kirwan, Colin Meads, Graham Mourie and George Nepia.

One journalist, the late Terry McLean, was also inducted.

The IRB Hall of Fame is being integrated with the original International Rugby Hall of Fame, with 37 other inductions taking place globally in the lead-up to the 2015 World Cup.

There had been five previous New Zealand inductees – Jonah Lomu, Sir Gordon Tietjens, Sir Wilson Whineray and David Kirk as well as the 1888 Natives team.

New Zealand Rugby chief executive Steve Tew said those honoured had contributed enormously to the sport.

“This is a great outcome for our game as we bring the responsibility of judging, preserving and chronicling significant contribution to our games history and heritage together under the one body.”