Sport Rugby League NSW name unchanged lineup for Origin III

NSW name unchanged lineup for Origin III

Laurie Daly
NSW coach Laurie Daly (L) has named an unchanged team for State of Origin Game III. Photo: AAP
Tweet Share Reddit Pin Email

New South Wales coach Laurie Daley has named an unchanged 17 for the Blues’ State of Origin decider against Queensland next Wednesday.

Injured forwards Tyson Frizell (back and ribs) and Boyd Cordner (calf) will both be given a chance to prove their fitness, while Jack de Belin has been named as 18th man for cover.

Frizell will undergo scans on Monday to determine the full extent of his injury, while Cordner will be given until later in the week to prove his fitness after copping the blow in Game II.

It’s also understood de Belin would need to recover from a calf injury of his own if he is to take either of their spots, potentially opening the door for Penrith’s Trent Merrin to be brought in.

Meanwhile James Tedesco (ankle) and Josh Dugan’s (corked thigh) injuries are considered to be minor.

The announcement marks the first time since 1996 that NSW have kept an unchanged side for the entire series, and just the second time either state has been able to do so in the 36-year history of the competition.

The Blues are attempting to claim just their second series in 12 years, but have not won a decider at Suncorp Stadium since 2005.

NSW TEAM: James Tedesco, Brett Morris, Josh Dugan, Jarryd Hayne, Blake Ferguson, James Maloney, Mitchell Pearce, Aaron Woods, Nathan Peats, Andrew Fifita, Boyd Cordner (capt), Josh Jackson, Tyson Frizell. Bench: David Klemmer, Wade Graham, Jake Trbojevic, Jack Bird.