Sport Football FFA announces its two new A-League teams

FFA announces its two new A-League teams

A new board has been elected at FFA. Photo: FFA
Twitter Facebook Reddit Pinterest Email

Western Melbourne and South-West Sydney have been announced as the A-League’s 11th and 12th clubs by FFA chairman Chris Nikou.

The move comes after football’s governing body assessed 15 groups who submitted an expression of interest in May.

They included proposals from Fremantle City, West Adelaide, Brisbane City, Ipswich, Gold Coast and Tasmania.

That number was cut to 10 in June, before being further reduced to six in October.

The remaining bidders were Canberra, two from Sydney (Southern Expansion and Macarthur South West Sydney) and three from Melbourne (Western Melbourne, Team 11 and South Melbourne).

The South West Sydney bid was backed by property developer Lang Walker’s Walker Corp, while Western Melbourne made the centrepiece of its bid an independently financed sporting precinct that requires no public money for the construction of a purpose-built football stadium.

-with AAP

More to come