Sport Football A-League finals decided with Roar, City to host

A-League finals decided with Roar, City to host

Tim Cahill
Melbourne City and Perth Glory will meet for the second time in a week in the second elimination final. Photo: AAP
Twitter Facebook Reddit Pinterest Email

Brisbane Roar and Melbourne City will host finals in the first week of knockout competition in the 2016/17 A-League season.

A crazy final day of the regular season — which saw Brisbane beat Wellington 4-3 and Perth Glory beat City 5-4 — settled the final places and set up some tantalising finals.

Brisbane will host the Western Sydney Wanderers on Friday night at Lang Park, while Sunday night will see Melbourne City meet Perth Glory for the second time in a week.

The Roar and Wanderers have finals history, having met in the 2013/14 grand final and in a goal-fest of a semi-final last season, which Wanderers won 5-4.

City and Glory will be hoping to tighten things up after their round 27 match, which City forward Tim Cahill described as “a mess”.

Sydney FC and Melbourne Victory are waiting to join in from the second weekend of the finals, with the Sky Blues to play the lowest-ranked winner from the elimination finals and Victory the other winner.