Sport Football Broich named A-League player of the year

Broich named A-League player of the year

Twitter Facebook Reddit Pinterest Email

Brisbane Roar playmaker Thomas Broich has created A-League history, becoming the first player to win a second Johnny Warren Medal as the competition’s player of the year on what was a standout night for his club on Monday.

Broich, who also won the players’ player award for the 2011/12 season, had another impressive campaign for Brisbane with his exceptional footwork and vision playing a key role in Roar winning the Premiers’ Plate and reaching a third grand final in four years.

The midfield maestro won the award – voted on by his fellow A-League players throughout the season – with 506 votes ahead of Melbourne Victory’s James Troisi (290) and Roar teammate Luke Brattan (264) at the gala event at Sydney’s Royal Randwick Racecourse.

Newcastle Jets young gun Adam Taggart (243) was fourth but picked up a double – claiming the young footballer of the year award and the Golden Boot award for his 16 goals this season.

Adelaide’s Marcelo Carrusca (226) rounded out the top five.

Broich paid tribute to his teammates, who he says bring out the best in him as they look to win their third championship in Sunday’s grand final against Western Sydney in Brisbane.

“We’re on a mission and we have to win the game on Sunday so ultimately it’s all about the team, it’s all about the club and that means more to me than a personal achievement,” Broich said.

“To win it twice is massive for me. I feel really honoured, but we’re team players.

“I don’t want to play in a team that doesn’t win anything so it’s really important for me that we make sure we win a third trophy.”

Broich, who joined Brisbane in 2010, created a league-high 86 chances for the Roar and has played every minute of Brisbane’s 28 games this season.

He has scored three goals and posted more assists than any other player in the competition with 10.

Roar coach Mike Mulvey also made history becoming the first mentor to win the A-League coach of the year after claiming the W-League coach of the year award last season.

Matildas star Tameka Butt added to an impressive night for Brisbane, winning the Julie Dolan Medal as the W-League player of the year.

Brisbane were also awarded their fifth fair play award in the nine seasons of the competition while Peter Green was named referee of the year for a second time and will referee the A-League decider this weekend.

Adelaide United’s Eugene Galekovic collected the goalkeeper of the year award for a third time while Melbourne Heart midfielder Orlando Engelaar received the goal of the year award for his spectacular long-rang strike against the Central Coast Mariners in round 24.

Among the other major W-League winners were Melbourne Victory’s Welsh international Jessica Fishlock (players’ player of the year), her teammate Stephanie Catley (young player of the year), Adelaide’s Melissa Barbieri (goalkeeper of the year), Sydney’s Jodie Taylor (Golden Boot), Canberra’s Sally Shipard (goal of the year) while Sydney mentor Alen Stajcic was named the W-League coach of the year.