Sport Football Canberra, Sydney dominant in W-League

Canberra, Sydney dominant in W-League

Twitter Facebook Reddit Pinterest Email

Canberra United and Sydney FC are the pace-setters in the W-League after one-sided wins left them as the only unbeaten sides after two rounds.

Reigning champions Sydney FC cruised past Newcastle Jets 4-0, while 2011-12 champions Canberra outlasted Western Sydney Wanderers for a 2-0 victory in the nation’s capital.

Canberra outplayed their opponents for lengthy periods and were comfortable victors on Sunday with first-half goals from Michelle Heyman and Stephanie Ochs.

The only missing ingredient was a finishing touch to numerous other chances they created.

The rejuvenated United appear capable of regaining the crown they won in their unbeaten 2011-12 season and have been in sparkling form following the arrival of American trio Lori Lindsey, Kendall Fletcher and Ochs.

Former golden boot winner Heyman celebrated her call-up to the Matildas side for next week’s internationals against China by retaining a share of top spot onn the league’s top-scorers chart alongside Sydney’s Jodie Taylor with her third of the season.

“It seems like we are back to our winning ways,” said Heyman.

“We are playing well, we have clicked (with the new players).

“We are all similar players in our outlook and we are all working hard to win.”

A similarly dominant Sydney FC eased past Newcastle on Saturday, with three of their four goals coming in the final 25 minutes.

Sydney striker Taylor bagged two, with Renee Rollason and Sam Kerr also netting and the winning margin was enough to put the Sky Blues clear of Canberra on goal difference.

Sydney coach Alen Stajcic bemoaned his side’s performance in attack despite the comfortable winning margin.

“We were guilty of poor execution and some poor options in the attacking third,” Stajcic said.

Two-time champions Brisbane Roar bounced back after a shock 3-0 opening loss against Canberra, to defeat Perth Glory by the same scoreline.

Tameka Butt and Clare Polkinghorne had the Roar well on the way to three points before Amy Chapman rounded out the scoring, with her long-range effort an early candidate for goal of the year.

Last year’s losing grand finalists Melbourne Victory kick-started their campaign with a 2-0 win at Adelaide United thanks to a Lisa De Vanna penalty and a Catlin Friend strike.