Sport Cricket Ellyse Perry named ICC’s Women’s Cricketer of the Year

Ellyse Perry named ICC’s Women’s Cricketer of the Year

Ellyse Perry
Ellyse Perry has been recognised as the world's best female cricketer. Photo: AAP
Twitter Facebook Reddit Pinterest Email

After a ground-breaking year across all formats, Australia’s superstar of the women’s game, Ellyse Perry, has won the inaugural Rachael Heyhoe Flint Award from the ICC for Women’s Cricketer of the Year.

Perry has been a dominant force for Australia, but took her already outstanding game to a new level in this summer’s Women’s Ashes Test, where she scored an unbeaten 213 and took three wickets.

“This year has been a very special year for women’s cricket with many milestones reached, so it is a privilege and honour to receive the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Award,” Perry said in a statement.

“A special thanks to Cricket Australia for the incredible amount of support they provide to the Australian Women’s cricket team and the way in which they continue to lead the development of women’s sport in Australia.

“Also, my teammates and our support staff, thanks so much for making it so enjoyable and memorable to tour and represent Australia.”

Perry edged out New Zealand’s Amy Satterthwaite and India’s Harmanpreet Kaur to win the award, while teammate Beth Mooney also cleaned up.

Mooney was named Women’s T20I Player of the Year and Women’s Emerging Player of the Year after a breakout 2017 that saw her score her maiden T20I century during the Women’s Ashes.