Sport Cricket Steve Smith sweeps Allan Border Medal

Steve Smith sweeps Allan Border Medal

Steve Smith
Twitter Facebook Reddit Pinterest Email

Steve Smith has capped a remarkable 12 months to sweep the awards at the Allan Border Medal ceremony in Sydney, winning three awards including Player of the Year.

As well as picking up the Allan Border Medal, Smith also took out the One-Day and Test player awards.

He became the third player to win the trifecta, following in the footsteps of Ricky Ponting in 2007 and Shane Watson in 2011.

GALLERY: The 2015 Allan Border Medal Red Carpet
India in danger after SCG washout

He became the 10th recipient of the award, joining the illustrious list of winners which also includes Glenn McGrath, Steve Waugh, Adam Gilchrist, Ricky Ponting and Michael Clarke.

Check out the entire list of winners from the night by clicking on the owl 

Smith was a runaway winner for the Allan Border Medal at the Carriageworks on Tuesday night, polling 243 votes, well ahead of David Warner with 175 and Mitchell Johnson with 126.

The 25-year-old hit 1756 runs in 22 matches last year at an average of 67.54 including eight 50s and seven hundreds.

He was also anointed the future leader of the side when he was handed the Test captaincy when Michael Clarke went down with an injured hamstring during the side’s series with India.

His 1212 Test runs at an average of 86.57 – including four centuries in row against India – was enough to edge out Warner, who had a memorable year with 1209 runs at 67.17.

Smith also held off Aaron Finch to be crowned one-day player of the year after hitting 541 runs at an average of 49.18 in ODIs.

He picked up 27 votes, two more than Finch, despite the Australian T20 captain hitting more runs in white ball cricket.

The points tally emphasised Smith’s remarkable run of form with the right-hander polling just one vote prior to October.

In what was a golden summer for Smith, he picked up points in 12 of the 17 games during the side’s series against Pakistan in the UAE, South Africa’s Twenty20 and one-day tour of Australia and the Border-Gavaskar Trophy with India.

Glenn Maxwell was rewarded for his efforts with bat and ball to win Twenty20 player of the year.

He scored 241 runs at 20.08 and took nine wickets but received the nod for his supreme finishing ability.

The emotional high-point of the night came when Sean Abbott was named the Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year.

The NSW allrounder has shown immense courage and maturity to bounce back from the tragic death of Phillip Hughes during a Sheffield Shield match in November.

Western Australian emerging quick Jason Berendorff was crowned domestic player of the year award after claiming 64 wickets in 23 matches in all forms of the game, 18 more than his nearest rival.

Meg Lanning was named women’s cricketer of the year after a dominant year with the bat.

She edged out Elyse Perry 57 votes to 50, despite scoring 1124 runs at 51.09, nearly double that of her teammate who accumulated 605 runs.


View Comments