Sport Basketball Perth Wildcats win record sixth NBL title

Perth Wildcats win record sixth NBL title

Damian Martin
Twitter Facebook Reddit Pinterest Email

The Perth Wildcats have claimed a record sixth NBL championship, thrashing the Adelaide 36ers 93-59 in the final game of the 2013/14 grand final series in front of nearly 14,000 fans at Perth Arena.

Leading by three points at quarter time, the Wildcats broke the game open in the second term, outscoring the 36ers 29-14 to lead 47-29 at halftime.

They continued in that vein in the third quarter, and they were out to a mammoth 70-46 lead at the final break before running out easy victors.

Adelaide’s Anthony Petrie played a lone hand for his side, scoring 20 points, while the Wildcats had an even spread of contributors.

Shawn Redhage led Perth with 16 points, Jermaine Beal had 15 and captain Damian Martin chipped in with 14 and six rebounds.

Beal won the Larry Sengstock Medal for Most Valuable Player of the grand final series.

Perth was already the most successful club in NBL history, and their sixth title took them two clear of both the 36ers and Melbourne Tigers who have four apiece.