Sport AFL Footy lovers’ delight: AFL set for 33 games in 20 days

Footy lovers’ delight: AFL set for 33 games in 20 days

Twitter Facebook Reddit Pinterest Email

Richmond and Western Bulldogs will kick off 20 consecutive days of AFL games when they play at Metricon Stadium on the Gold Coast next Wednesday night.

The AFL released the fixture for Rounds 9 to 12 on Tuesday night, with games set to be held in Western Australia, South Australia, Queensland and Tasmania across that time.

There will be 33 games in total across the 20 days, with the four rounds held consecutively.

Some teams face four-day breaks, while others will have a bye during that four-round block.

The AFL struck a deal with the AFLPA to lift the freeze on signing contracts from 2021, while securing approval for four-day breaks.

“We have taken the opportunity to compress the season as the feedback from clubs is that while they are in a hub environment there was a desire to play more games in a shorter period of time, and in turn we can effectively complete the season in a quicker format,” AFL general manager of clubs and broadcasting Travis Auld said.

“Given that we don’t have the ability to prioritise attendance at matches this season, it allows us to play games in the non-traditional time slots of Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday night and showcase our game across the entire week.”

Brisbane, Collingwood, Geelong, Melbourne and North Melbourne will each face the challenge of two four-day breaks, while Adelaide, Essendon, Gold Coast, Port Adelaide, Richmond and St Kilda all have one.

Every team will have a bye either in the upcoming block of fixtures or the next, except Essendon and Melbourne due to their postponed Round 3 match.

Carlton, Fremantle, Hawthorn and West Coast have a bye in Round 10.

After Round 10, Sydney and Greater Western Sydney will travel to Perth and have a bye in Round 11 while they fulfil quarantine requirements.

They will play each other in Round 12 and are set to play West Coast and Fremantle in the next block of fixtures.

Geelong and Collingwood will depart the WA hub after Round 9 and head to Queensland for Round 10.

Hawthorn and Carlton head to WA ahead of Round 9 and will spend the entire fixture block in that hub.

Pending state government exemption, North Melbourne will temporarily relocate to Hobart and play two matches at Blundstone Arena across Rounds 11 and 12, hosting Melbourne and Brisbane.