Sport AFL AFL names preliminary All Australian squad

AFL names preliminary All Australian squad

Twitter Facebook Reddit Pinterest Email

Gary Ablett Jnr is set to draw level with his legendary father and bag an incredible eighth All Australian selection.

Ablett was on Tuesday named in the AFL’s 40-man All Australian squad, which will be trimmed to 22 on September 16 in Melbourne.

• TND’s All-Aussie team of 2014: let the debate begin
• Blow for Bombers, Port fuming, Hawks hopeful

For the eighth year in a row Ablett is expected to be picked in the prestigious side.

Scott Pendlebury celebrates a rare goal.
Scott Pendlebury.

The Gold Coast skipper missed the final seven rounds of the season, but was in devastating form prior to his shoulder injury.

Ablett was one of six incumbent All Australians included in the preliminary squad for 2014.

Fellow club captains Travis Boak, Scott Pendlebury and Joel Selwood also made the cut, as did Hawthorn forward Jarryd Roughead and Geelong defender Harry Taylor.

There were 26 players in the squad that are in line for a maiden All Australian berth.

That list includes Hawthorn’s Luke Breust, Jack Gunston and Jordan Lewis, and Sydney trio Nick Malceski, Luke Parker and Nick Smith.

Jack Gunston.
Jack Gunston.

The Hawks and Swans both supplied five players in the extended squad, with Shaun Burgoyne, Josh Kennedy and Coleman medallist Lance Franklin also up for gongs.

Despite missing out on the finals, Adelaide had four players shortlisted – all of them chasing their first All Australian honour.

Ruckman Sam Jacobs, defender Daniel Talia, ex-Carlton forward Eddie Betts, and wingman Brodie Smith were the Crows’ contributions.

The Cats also had four in the squad, with Tom Lonergan in line for his maiden berth and Tom Hawkins seeking his second guernsey.

Nathan Fyfe.
Nathan Fyfe.

St Kilda skipper Nick Riewoldt could grace the stage despite the Saints winning the wooden spoon.

Essendon’s Dyson Heppell, Fremantle gun Nat Fyfe, GWS workhorse Callan Ward, Brisbane hard-nut Tom Rockliff and Port Adelaide’s Robbie Gray all have strong claims that they deserve to be squeezed into the star-studded midfield.

None of the talented quintet have ever been named in an All Australian side.

Port forward Jay Schulz, West Coast’s Matt Priddis and Eric Mackenzie and Richmond trio Alex Rance, Dustin Martin and Brandon Ellis are also up for their first All Australian berths.

North Melbourne veteran Brent Harvey is suspended for his side’s elimination final, but the 36-year-old could cap a stellar season by earning his fifth selection.

Fremantle duo Hayden Ballanytne and Aaron Sandilands, Carlton’s Bryce Gibbs, Collingwood on-baller Dayne Beams, Essendon defender Cale Hooker, and Western Bulldog Tom Liberatore round out the nominations.

Melbourne was the only club completely snubbed by selectors.


*Adelaide: Eddie Betts, Sam Jacobs, Brodie Smith, Daniel Talia

*Brisbane: Tom Rockliff

*Carlton: Bryce Gibbs

*Collingwood: Dayne Beams, Scott Pendlebury

*Essendon: Dyson Heppell, Cale Hooker

*Fremantle: Hayden Ballanytne, Nathan Fyfe, Aaron Sandilands

*Geelong: Tom Hawkins, Tom Lonergan, Joel Selwood, Harry Taylor

*Gold Coast: Gary Ablett

*Greater Western Sydney: Callan Ward

*Hawthorn: Luke Breust, Shaun Burgoyne, Jack Gunston, Jordan Lewis, Jarryd Roughead

*Melbourne: Nil

*North Melbourne: Brent Harvey

*Port Adelaide: Travis Boak, Robbie Gray, Jay Schulz

*Richmond: Brandon Ellis, Dustin Martin, Alex Rance

*St Kilda: Nick Riewoldt

*Sydney: Lance Franklin, Josh Kennedy, Nick Malceski, Luke Parker, Nick Smith

*West Coast: Eric Mackenzie, Matt Priddis

*Western Bulldogs: Tom Liberatore.