Sport AFL Blues axe four, Dawes returns for Round 4

Blues axe four, Dawes returns for Round 4

Twitter Facebook Reddit Pinterest Email

Carlton have reacted to their humiliating AFL loss to Essendon by dropping four players for Saturday’s must-win match against Melbourne.

Jarrad Waite, Jeff Garlett, Simon White and Tom Bell were axed following last Sunday night’s 81-point capitulation.

Last year’s first-round draft pick Patrick Cripps will make his AFL debut, while Kane Lucas, Levis Casboult and Heath Scotland will return.

Melbourne have finally regained one of their key forwards, with Chris Dawes returning from injury.

Top draft pick Jesse Hogan remains sidelined and Mitch Clark announced his retirement from the AFL this week because of depression.

It will be the first time this season Melbourne have had a genuine key forward in their lineup.

Jordie McKenzie was also recalled, while Shannon Byrnes and Jack Fitzpatrick were dropped.

Richmond regained ruckman Shaun Hampson from injury for Friday night’s must-win blockbuster against Collingwood at the expense of Orren Stephenson.

Jake King was also dropped and Ricky Petterd has a groin injury.

First-gamer Sam Lloyd and Matt Arnot are the other inclusions.

Collingwood named Nick Maxwell and Dayne Beams after they suffered ankle injuries last weekend.

Sam Dwyer is out with a knee injury and Taylor Adams is suspended, with the Magpies recalling Josh Thomas and Jarrod Witts.

West Coast have made five changes – four of them forced – for Saturday night’s daunting away assignment against Geelong.

Captain Darren Glass has a hip injury and he joins Mark LeCras (arm), Chris Masten (hamstring) and Luke Shuey (suspension) on the sidelines, while Cameron Sinclair was dropped.

The Cats named Corey Enright, who has been out with an ankle injury and also named Taylor Hunt at the expense of Jackson Sheringham and Mitch Brown (ankle).

Winless Brisbane also announced five changes for Saturday’s game against Port Adelaide at Adelaide Oval.

Daniel Merrett is suspended, Daniel Rich is out for the season with a knee reconstruction and Josh Green has a leg injury.

The Lions named Nick Robertson and Tom Cutler for their AFL debuts, while Ryan Lester and Michael Close were dropped.

Ryan Harwood, Rohan Bewick and Jackson Paine were recalled.

Port lost Angus Monfries (hamstring) and Chad Wingard (ankle).

John Butcher was dropped and the Power included first-gamer Sam Gray.

They also included Cameron O’Shea and Aaron Young.

The Western Bulldogs will be without Jordan Roughead (shoulder), Luke Dalhaus (calf) and Jason Johannisen for Saturday’s Canberra match against Greater Western Sydney.

Koby Stevens, Jason Tutt and Tom Young return.

Hawthorn have regained captain Luke Hodge from a groin injury for their match against Gold Coast and left out Angus Litherland.