News State Victoria Greens claim second seat in Tasmanian election

Greens claim second seat in Tasmanian election

Rosalie Woodruff
Greens MP for Franklin Rosalie Woodruff benefited from Labor preferences. Photo: Facebook/Rosalie Woodruff
Twitter Facebook Reddit Pinterest Email

The Greens have two seats in Tasmania’s new parliament after Rosalie Woodruff was narrowly re-elected in the southern electorate of Franklin.

The Tasmanian Electoral Commission on Thursday morning declared Ms Woodruff had edged the Liberal’s Nic Street by a mere 226 votes after the distribution of preferences.

She’ll join party leader Cassy O’Connor as the second Greens MP in the state’s parliament.

One seat in Bass remains undecided, with Greens incumbent Andrea Dawkins locked in a tight battle with Labor’s Jennifer Houston.

A final result is expected this week.

The Greens struggled for relevance in a five-week election campaign devoid of a key environmental issue.

Ms O’Connor said earlier this month the party will conduct a review to dissect its campaign performance.

The Liberals were returned to power with 13 seats at the March 3 poll, while Labor currently has nine seats.