News State QLD News Queensland election: Labor Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk edges towards victory

Queensland election: Labor Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk edges towards victory

Queensland Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk has not yet claimed victory in the state election.
Queensland Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk has not yet claimed victory in the state election. Photo: Getty
Twitter Facebook Reddit Pinterest Email

Labor appears to have secured a majority government in Queensland, but Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk has yet to claim victory despite her candidate in a crucial seat getting over the line.

The ABC’s election counter has called 47 seats for Labor in the 93-seat parliament, giving Ms Palaszczuk a razor thin one-seat majority.

Meaghan Scanlon, 24, on Wednesday unseated the Liberal National Party member in the Gold Coast’s Gaven to become the second-youngest MP ever in state parliament.

The premier will not claim victory until the electoral commission has officially called the results, while opposition Leader Tim Nicholls is yet to concede defeat.

However, Labor’s Ms Scanlon claimed victory on Wednesday after unseating LNP incumbent Sid Cramp.

“Very clearly voters here on the Gold Coast wanted an energetic, enthusiastic change from the wall-to-wall LNP MPs who took this area and my community for granted,” Ms Scanlon told reporters.

“I know there’ll be a lot of new challenges, really looking forward to getting in there.”

ECQ hopes to have a final result by the end of the week, almost two weeks after the state election. On Wednesday night, the commission had officially called just 34 seats.

The tally in some seats will come down to the wire. In Maiwar, just 73 votes puts Greens ahead of Labor to oust Liberal National Party’s Scott Emerson. Michael Berkman would be the first Greens MP in state parliament.

With preferences, Labor was marginally trailing behind the LNP in Townsville on Wednesday night with 83.94 per cent counted.

Labor’s Mike Brunker conceded defeated to LNP’s Dale Last in Burdekin on Wednesday.

“After 10 days of counting we finally have a result in the Burdekin,” Mr Last wrote on Facebook.

“A big thank you to all those people who have assisted and supported me throughout the campaign. Time to roll the sleeves up and get back to the saddle.”

Robbie Katter has declared victory for Katter’s Australian Party in Hinchinbrook in north Queensland.

With only about 1000 votes left to count, the state leader said Nick Dametto has ousted Liberal National Party’s Andrew Cripps.

“We’ve won the seat of Hinchinbrook now,” Mr Katter said in Townsville on Wednesday.

“It’s been a six-year project for us to get another seat in parliament and we’ve done that.”

Shortly after Mr Katter’s announcement, Mr Cripps posted a concession speech on Facebook.

“I have not been re-elected as the Member for Hinchinbrook,” he said.

“I leave this role knowing that I served to the best of my ability and judgement, represented the Hinchinbrook electorate faithfully and was beholden to nobody in doing so.”

Mr Dametto will join KAP MPs Mr Katter and Shane Knuth in Queensland parliament.

Mr Katter said the result meant the party had a “very strong mandate” to represent voters in the state’s far north.

“I think we’re the ones that can take the fight up to our southern cousins and ensure we get what’s fair for us,” he said.

Mr Katter said KAP was willing to work with whoever was in government and its door was always open.

“If they want to run the gauntlet and treat the rest of Queensland with contempt by saying, ‘We’ve got this arrogant attitude where we’re going to govern by one or two’ – No.1 that’s stupid, No.2  it’s disrespectful,” he said.

“If they can’t even be bothered contacting us and negotiating I think we’re off to a very bad start.”

Ms Palaszczuk ruled out forming government with the support of any of the minor parties or independents during the election campaign.

The KAP Members will likely be joined on the crossbench by Mr Berkman for the Greens, One Nation’s Steve Andrew from Mirani, and independent Sandy Bolton for Noosa.

A spokesperson for Ms Palaszczuk confirmed the premier would not declare victory until the final result is called, and declined to add further comment.

The ECQ did not respond to a request for comment.

-with AAP

View Comments