News State QLD News Contenders for Rudd’s seat announced

Contenders for Rudd’s seat announced

Twitter Facebook Reddit Pinterest Email

The line-up for the by-election in Kevin Rudd’s old seat will be formally declared on Friday.

A total of 97,857 people are enrolled to vote in the Brisbane electorate of Griffith on February 8, after the former prime minister quit parliament following Labor’s drubbing.

Terri Butler, an employment and industrial relations lawyer, will contest the seat for Labor.

Dr Bill Glasson, former president of the Australian Medical Association, who lost to Mr Rudd at the September poll, will stand again for the Liberal National Party.

Clive Palmer’s party has already said it won’t contest the seat but the Greens will again put up Geoff Ebbs.

Katter’s Australian Party is standing Ray Sawyer, after it’s candidate at the last poll, Luke Murray, performed poorly.

The Pirate Party, which says it stands for civil liberties and transparency in government, will also join the contest.

Melanie Thomas, one of its senate candidates at the 2013 federal election, will be on the ballot list.

Just who else is on offer will be revealed when nominations are formally declared at midday (AEST) on Friday.

View Comments