News State QLD News Pre-polling begins for council de-merger regions

Pre-polling begins for council de-merger regions

Twitter Facebook Reddit Pinterest Email

Pre-polling for the local government election starts today for residents of Mareeba, Livingstone, Noosa and Douglas councils.

The four councils will officially de-amalgamate from larger regional councils from January 1.

Mareeba, Livingstone and Noosa will have six councillors and a mayor, while Douglas will have four councillors and a mayor.

A total of 78 candidates are vying for council spots and 10 people are running to be mayors.

They will be picked using the first-past-the-post voting system.

More than 78,000 voters are enrolled in the four council areas.

Pre-polling ends on Friday, November 8, the day before polling day.

Applications for postal votes close on November 6.