News State NSW News Michael Daley elected new NSW Labor leader

Michael Daley elected new NSW Labor leader

Michael Daley replaces embattled Luke Foley as NSW Labor leader. Photo: AAP
Twitter Facebook Reddit Pinterest Email

Michael Daley has been elected as the NSW Labor leader to take the party to the March 2019 election after Luke Foley’s resignation.

The Member for Maroubra received 33 of 45 votes in a caucus meeting on Saturday afternoon, while Chris Minns received the other 12.

The switch left Mr Daley’s deputy Labor leader job open, with the only nominee Penny Sharpe picked as his replacement.

Mr Foley resigned after ABC journalist Ashleigh Raper issued a statement alleging he put his hand through the back of her dress and groped her at a 2016 Christmas party.

He has denied the allegation but said he won’t seek re-election to parliament.

Deputy leader Michael Daley on Friday emerged as the frontrunner to replace Mr Foley but within hours 39-year-old Chris Minns, Labor Member for Kogarah, also threw his hat in the ring.

Both men distanced themselves from Mr Foley, who they suggested should leave the party altogether.

After the vote Mr Minns was asked by journalists if he was disappointed at the result.

“I’m a realist. It’s a great day for Michael and I know he’s going to be the next premier of NSW – I’m convinced of that and I’m genuinely looking forward to being part of this team.

“Now it’s onto the next election and take the fight up to Gladys Berejiklian,” Mr Minns said.