News National Flurry of resignation offers flood PM

Flurry of resignation offers flood PM

Minister for International Development Concetta Fierravanti-Wells is going nowhere as PM refuses resignation. Photo: AAP
Twitter Facebook Reddit Pinterest Email

At least five members of Malcolm Turnbull’s ministry have tendered their resignations after backing leadership rival Peter Dutton.

Mr Turnbull has reportedly not accepted any of the offers so far, in an attempt to keep the party united and protect his leadership.

International Development Minister Concetta Fierravanti-Wells offered her resignation on Tuesday night with a letter in which she criticised the Liberal Party for moving too far to the left.

LNP Queensland Senator James McGrath at the LNP post-Longman by-election party in Caboolture. Photo: AAP

“Our conservative base strongly feel that their voice has been eroded,” she wrote to Mr Turnbull.

“They needed some demonstrable indication that there are conservative voices around your cabinet table.”

Senator Fierravanti-Wells said she pushed for Mr Dutton to replace Julie Bishop as deputy Liberal leader to improve stability.

Michael Sukkar. Photo: AAP

Assistant Treasurer Michael Sukkar offered his resignation after voting for Mr Dutton in the spill, along with Assistant Minister to the Prime Minister James McGrath.

“I voted for Peter Dutton for Leader of the Parliamentary Liberal Party. As a matter of integrity, this afternoon I offered my resignation to the Prime Minister,” Senator McGrath posted on Facebook on Tuesday afternoon.

Senator McGrath was one of the key backers behind Mr Turnbull’s rolling of Tony Abbott in 2015.

Minister for Cyber Security Angus Taylor. Photo: AAP

Cybersecurity Minister Angus Taylor and Assistant Minister for Science, Jobs and Innovation Zed Seselja have also reportedly offered their resignations.

Human Services Minister Michael Keenan called for unity.

Mr Dutton had already resigned from his Home Affairs portfolio to sit on the backbench, after losing his leadership challenge to Mr Turnbull, 45 votes to 38.

-with AAP

View Comments