News National Study: just one electorate opposed to gay marriage

Study: just one electorate opposed to gay marriage

Only one electorate in Australia is opposed to marriage equality, a study reports. Photo: AAP
Twitter Facebook Reddit Pinterest Email

A recent study has suggested just one electorate in Australia would oppose same-sex marriage if a plebiscite was held.

The University of Melbourne-led study found only one electorate in the country can say that 50% of their voters oppose marriage equality.

Maranoa, which is in rural Queensland held by Liberal MP David Littleproud, is the only place with a majority ‘no’ vote.

And while the study is not a direct poll of voters it does show the majority of Australians want change, one researcher, Monash University political scientist Shaun Ratcliff said.

“Based on our data and other polling, it appears a plebiscite would pass easily,” he told Fairfax.

Using the ABC’s Vote Compass 2013 survey, researchers also found there was a clear difference in voting between metropolitan and rural areas.

Inner city areas in Sydney and Melbourne provided above-average support for a marriage equality change, with less than 10 per cent against, while in rural areas in Queensland and northern NSW had 40-50 per cent of voters opposed the change.

Regardless, the data showed the majority were in support of changing the Marriage Act, with two-thirds of voters in favour.

“There has been a majority in favour of same-sex marriage for quite a long time now,” Ratcliff said.
“I don’t think anything’s inevitable but suspect on this particular issue we’re going to see same-sex marriage legalised. It’s just a matter of when.”

Ten electorates most opposed to same-sex marriage

  • Maranoa*, QLD (LNP, David Littleproud)
  • Groom, QLD (LNP, John McVeigh)
  • Flynn, QLD (LNP, Ken O’Dowd)
  • Hinkler, QLD (LNP, Keith Pitt)
  • New England, NSW (Nationals, Barnaby Joyce)
  • Kennedy, QLD (Katter’s Australian Party, Bob Katter)
  • Grey, SA  (Liberal, Rowan Ramsey)
  • Barker, SA (Liberal, Tony Pasin)
  • Parkes, NSW (Nationals, Mark Coulton)
  • Braddon, TAS (Labor, Justine Keay)

*The only seat where a majority was opposed.

Ten electorates most supportive of same-sex marriage

  • Sydney, NSW (Labor, Tanya Plibersek)
  • Melbourne, VIC (Greens, Adam Bandt)
  • Grayndler, NSW (Labor, Anthony Albanese)
  • Wentworth, NSW (Liberal, Malcolm Turnbull)
  • Melbourne Ports, VIC (Labor, Michael Danby)
  • Wills, VIC (Labor, Peter Khalil)
  • Gellibrand, VIC (Labor, Tim Watts)
  • Batman, VIC (Labor, David Feeney)
  • Higgins, VIC (Liberal, Kelly O’Dwyer)
  • Brisbane, QLD (Liberal, Trevor Evans)

View Comments