News National PM’s new ministry sworn in

PM’s new ministry sworn in

Turnbull cabinet reshuffle
AAP: Dean Lewins
Twitter Facebook Reddit Pinterest Email

Barnaby Joyce has been sworn in as the new Deputy Prime Minister of Australia as the Prime Minister’s new ministry is made official.

Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull’s new team now includes:

• Steve Ciobo as Trade Minister
• Darren Chester as Infrastructure Minister
• Alan Tudge as Human Services Minister
• Matt Canavan as Minister for Northern Australia
• Dan Tehan as Minister for Defence Materiel and the Minister for Veterans Services

• Backpacker tax will turn away overseas workers
• Why Malcolm Turnbull has his backbench fretting


Mr Turnbull reshuffled his frontbench on Saturday, focusing on women and youth.

The new Nationals Deputy Leader Fiona Nash was among those being sworn by Governor-General Sir Peter Cosgrove at Government House, adding Regional Development and Regional Communications to her responsibilities.

Finance Minister Mathias Cormann has also added Special Minister of State to his roles.

The number of women in Cabinet has been boosted to six, while the total in the executive has risen to 10 with the elevation of Senator Concetta Fierravanti-Wells to International Development and the Pacific Minister and Jane Prentice to Assistant Minister for Disability Services.

There was a total of 17 portfolio changes following the departure of six ministers from Mr Turnbull’s first frontbench, unveiled in September.

Former Trade Minister Andrew Robb and outgoing Nationals leader Warren Truss are retiring, while Jamie Briggs, Stuart Robert and Mal Brough stepped down amid scandal.

Nationals MP Luke Hartsuyker has also been demoted to the backbench.



View Comments