News Election 2016 Election 2016: all the winners, losers

Election 2016: all the winners, losers

election 2016
Twitter Facebook Reddit Pinterest Email

While Australia remains uncertain about who will lead it through the next term of government, a clearer picture of the election’s winners and losers is emerging.

The biggest casualties so far include Coalition MP’s Wyatt Roy and Jamie Briggs, who lost their seats of Longman (QLD) and Mayo (SA) respectively.

Former independent MPs Rob Oakeshott and Tony Windsor failed in their bids to re-enter the House of Representatives, while David Feeney, Tony Abbott, Peter Dutton and Kelly O’Dwyer were all on the wrong end of significant swings but held on to win their seats.

Malcolm Turnbull is in a world of trouble
Bill Shorten may have landed a killer blow
• Yes, there were two victory speeches
• Oakeshott complains about absentee ballots
Turnbull challenge now all about negotiation
Hanson, Xenophon shake up Senate
Voters cranky about long queues

Early on Sunday morning Jacqui Lambie had retained her senate seat in Tasmania. Former Queensland MP Pauline Hanson had also won a senate seat in Queensland.

Both were hopeful one more candidate from their parties, the Jacqui Lambie Network and Pauline Hanson’s One Nation, would win a senate spot.

In Victoria, shock-jock Derryn Hinch declared he had won a senate seat for his Derryn Hinch’s Justice Party.

Late on Saturday night Mr Dutton had suffered a 5.38 per cent negative swing in Dickson (QLD), Ms O’Dwyer a 5.5 per cent negative swing in Higgins (VIC) and David Feeney a 9.4 per cent negative swing in Batman (VIC).

Meanwhile, former PM Tony Abbott lost a whopping 9.44 per cent of his primary vote in Warringah (NSW).

The winners and the losers.
Election 2016: The winners and the losers.

The latest estimates on Saturday night forecast the Coalition would lose at least 12 seats around Australia.

One of those seats was Mayo, which was won by Nick Xenophon Party (NXT) candidate Rebekha Sharkie, who gave the fledgling party its first lower house representative.

sophie mirabella
Mirabella won’t be back in the lower house. Photo: AAP

Anthony Albanese and Christopher Pyne defeated significant challenges from the Greens and NXT, while the divisive Peter Dutton only narrowly defeated his Labor rival in Queensland.

Polarising former Coalition MP Sophie Mirabella also failed in her attempt to re-enter the lower house, with her political nemesis Cathy McGowan (Independent) holding the Victorian seat of Indi.

Mr Windsor lost his bitter fight with deputy Prime Minister and Nationals leader Barnaby Joyce in New England.

In the Senate, controversial figures Pauline Hanson and Derryn Hinch were among the most high-profile names to secure positions.

The Greens did not gain any seats, but gave the ALP’s David Feeney a scare in the seat of Batman. The progressive party held its lower house seat in Melbourne, while it gained ground in Wills and Higgins.

Labor made ground in Tasmania, where it defeated Liberal MP and former government whip Andrew Nikolic in Bass.

Linda Burney (Barton) was another new face for Labor, while former Labor MP Mike Kelly made a comeback in Eden-Monaro.

View Comments