The urge to delete Facebook has seized many after it was revealed political data firm Cambridge Analytica obtained data from 50 million Facebook users.
How do I delete my Facebook account?
Unfortunately, Facebook has made it difficult for people to delete Facebook.
However, there is a secret link that takes you directly to the ‘Delete My Account’ page. Without this link, it is nearly impossible to delete Facebook.
But be warned – this is a permanent action and you won’t be able to reactive or retrieve any information.
Step 1: Click the secret link that will redirect you to this page and press ‘Delete My Account’
Step 2: Enter in your password and the code provided
Can I temporarily deactivate Facebook?
A Facebook account can be temporarily deactivated. To reactivate, you can simply log in and your profile will be reinstated.
Step 1: Click the account menu at the top right of your Facebook page.
Step 2: Click the ‘Settings’ tab
Step 3: Click the ‘General’ button on the left hand side
Step 4: Choose the ‘Manage Account’ and click edit
Step 5: Click ‘Deactivate your account’ and follow the steps to confirm
If my Facebook account is deleted, can I still use Instagram?
Yes. Even if your accounts are linked, Instagram can still be used because it is a separate social media platform.
This just means that all your photos and videos on Instagram will no longer be shared on Facebook.
Can I still log into other websites associated with my Facebook account?
No. If you no longer have a Facebook account, you will not be able to log into any other site associated with your account.
Once deleted, will people be able to find things I’ve posted on Facebook?
As per the Facebook Help Centre: “When you delete your account, people won’t be able to see it on Facebook. It may take up to 90 days from the beginning of the deletion process to delete all of the things you’ve posted.”
Facebook did state that while they are deleting the information, it is inaccessible to other people using Facebook.
However, parts of your digital self will still remain on the site. The photos that people have uploaded of you will still be there and conversations you have had with your friends won’t disappear either.