Entertainment TV Meet Australia’s Eurovision Song Contest jury

Meet Australia’s Eurovision Song Contest jury

Twitter Facebook Reddit Pinterest Email

Entertainment reporter Richard Wilkins and singer Danielle Spencer are among the judges who will sit on Australia’s national jury at the Eurovision song contest later in the month.

Consisting of respected local music and entertainment figures, national juries represent each competing country and make up 50 per cent of the total vote.

• Eurovision sign interpreter steals the show: video
• Five people we’d rather represent us at Eurovision

The other 50 per cent comes from voters at home.

This is the first time Australia has been invited to compete in the famous European contest and has been given just one chance to perform as a wildcard entry.

Guy Sebastian
Australian Eurovision entrant Guy Sebastian.

The only way Australia would be able to compete again is if entrant Guy Sebastian wins the contest, which many punters have said is unlikely.

Wilkins and Spencer will be joined by Australian music executive Amanda Pelman, who will chair the jury.

Pelman was the first person to sign Kylie Minogue and managed Jimmy Barnes in the 1980s.

The final two judges are former Bluejuice frontman Jake Stone and radio host Ash London.

Wilkins currently hosts Mornings on smoothfm and most recently reprised his musical career in the Grease musical in 2006.

Spencer, perhaps best known for her marriage to Russell Crowe, released her debut album White Monkey in 2001 and is currently working on her third album.

The Eurovision grand final will screen on SBS on Sunday 24th of May at 7.30pm.

For instructions on how to vote, or for more information on the Eurovision contest, see the SBS website here.

View Comments