Entertainment Celebrity ‘Budapest Hotel’ snags Writers Guild Award

‘Budapest Hotel’ snags Writers Guild Award

Twitter Facebook Reddit Pinterest Email

The Grand Budapest Hotel and The Imitation Game have snagged top prizes at the annual Writers Guild Awards.

Director Wes Anderson accepted the trophy for best original screenplay for his comedic caper about a concierge who befriends the lobby boy at the Grand Budapest Hotel in the fictitious Republic of Zubrowka.

The film, starring Ralph Fiennes, is nominated for nine awards at the Oscars, to be held on February 22.

Mr Anderson, who co-wrote the story with his friend Hugo Guinness, accepted the trophy at the Los Angeles ceremony on Saturday night.

Bung knee brings down Bond
• Why 50 Shades is spankingly awful
Hancock show must go on

Graham Moore took home the prize for best adapted screenplay, for his work transforming the book Alan Turing: The Enigma into the The Imitation Game.

GA Vice President Howard A. Rodman onstage at the 2015 Writers Guild Awards in L.A. Photo: Getty

The film tells the story of British mathematician and code breaker Alan Turing, who built a machine to decipher Nazi code during World War II before being persecuted for his homosexuality.

The film is nominated for eight Oscars, including nods for Norwegian director Morten Tyldum as well as actors Benedict Cumberbatch and Keira Knightley.

Best documentary screenplay went to Brian Knappenberger for The Internet’s Own Boy: The Story of Aaron Swartz about a computer programming prodigy who commits suicide at age 26.

Meanwhile television shows True Detective and Louie won for best drama series and comedy series respectively.

The WGA honoured Spanish director Pedro Almodovar with an award for screenwriting achievement.

Mr Almodovar, who won an Academy Award for best writing for an original screenplay for his 2002 film Talk to Her, expressed his gratitude via video.

The 65-year-old filmmaker is known for creating strong female characters in such films as Law of Desire (1987), Women on the Verge of a Nervous Breakdown (1988) and Volver (2006).

The writers guild also honoured two-time Oscar winner Ben Affleck for his humanitarian work in the Democratic Republic of Congo.

View Comments